Visit Captain Sim web site  
  Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5  Send TopicPrint
 25 To New Members Lou and Delta Dog (Read 64251 times)
madfred

Re: To New Members Lou and Delta Dog
Reply #45 - Aug 2nd, 2010 at 1:59am
Print Post  
Even though this thread is dated, I love all the valuable info everyone has given. I am new to the 727 and this thread (and others) help me understand the ins and outs of this lovely bird.

Manfred

IP Logged

Red STar

Reply #46 - Aug 15th, 2010 at 5:45am
Print Post  
Advice from Lou is very helpful! Could you comment on technique for localizer capture. I try to fly an accurate localizer intercept, say from a DME arc, but this ends in a nearly ninety degree intercept which has me overshooting the LOC and by the time I get back on the LOC the glideslope is below. Should one add a couple of miles to the DME arc to allow some distance for making the intercept at a finer angle? I assume that one should never attempt glideshop capture before getting on the localizer. Keeping NAV 1 and 2 needles on the RMI selected intelligently to the available navaids seems to be useful. Your advice would be appreciated, Lou.

IP Logged

LOU
Beta Team

727,707,747,757,767=
40years of Boeings

Reply #47 - Aug 18th, 2010 at 8:59pm
Print Post  
Could you comment on technique for localizer capture. I try to fly an accurate localizer intercept, say from a DME arc, but this ends in a nearly ninety degree intercept which has me overshooting the LOC and by the time I get back on the LOC the glideslope is below. Should one add a couple of miles to the DME arc to allow some distance for making the intercept at a finer angle