Tim Capps

Defense Lawyer & US Navy
JAG (ret), Writer

Re: 767 on FS2004?
Reply #15 - Jul 15th, 2009 at 6:24pm
Print Post  
James F. Chams wrote on Jul 9th, 2009 at 6:23am:
Let me guess ...

this has turned into another one of those FS9 vs. FSX "Yet Another Pointless Discussions" .... Cheesy

You FS9 guys really love to argue your point endlessly ... Are any of you lawyers?  I could use another good lawyer.  Huh

I'm a lawyer.  I try not to argue too much because it starts to be like work.  Platforms move on, and those resistant to change are going to get left behind, and whether that is fair or not, that is the reality, not argument.  I liked vinyl LPs, but realize I would be a pretty small niche these days.  Looking back, I'm not sure I didn't have it better under FS9 for what I do, which is fly big things.  But here we are and FSX is pretty good, too, and I'm liking it more every day.

What are the other pointless discussions?  My preferences are the only legitimate approach to flight simulation.  Company X is EVIL!  Company Y is PERFECT!  The common thread running through all pointless discussions is rigidity and an unwillingness to concede that this is a hobby different kinds of people pursue for relaxation, and we're all playing with toys.  If you get a rush out of mastering a more complicated toy, great.  Don't sneer at mine.  I had learned this by first grade.  Too much ego gets invested in this stuff, but that's the Internet.

PC: i9 10900K @ 3.8 GHz | 32GB DDR4 3200 | 10GB RTX 3080 | 32” Asus TUF VG32VQ Curved Monitor | Samsung 2TB SSD HD | Win 10 Pro 64 - Flight Sim P3Dv5.2 |

IP Logged

Hammer

Reply #16 - Jul 15th, 2009 at 6:52pm
Print Post  
Yes, FS9, AKA FS 2004, so coded in 2002-3.  Old by gaming standards.  Very old.  To expect new products to support or work on that decrepid old platform is ludicrous and delusional.