Visit Captain Sim web site  
  Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Writting new FMC tutorial and need opinions (Read 4670 times)
ChinookGuy

How does this work again?

Writting new FMC tutorial and need opinions
Jul 10th, 2010 at 5:23pm
Print Post  
This is the first section of my FMC tutorial for the 767.  I would like some opinions so that I know weather I should continue with it or just trash the whole idea.  Thanks in advance.  Please E-Mail me with your opinions and I will send the Word format document if you desire.   smithdavidp@yahoo.com

Captain Sim B-767 FMC tutorial
Part 1
The beginners guide

This is my first attempt at writing an instructional manual.  I shall endeavor to make it fun reading while trying to give the instruction needed to complete a task.  I hope I succeed in breaking up the sheer boredom you will experience from reading this tutorial.  Finally I would like to point out that when I desire for the reader to take an action I have put the instruction in Bold face type.  Now….on with the show……

Many of us are new to a fully functional FMC with our FS airplanes.  In the past we just relied on the old GPS button.  With the CS767 there is no GPS button so we wind up learning how to program a new device….the FMC.

The FMC is actually a system that relies on three separate systems, The CDU, the IRIS, and the EFIS.  We will tackle each of these, one at a time, to better understand the importance that each plays to successfully program our FMC.  We want it to take us where we want to go and even, possibly, put us on short final at our destination and perform an auto land when we feel lazy.  The FMC on the CS767 is capable of doing all of this and more.

IRIS