Visit Captain Sim web site  
  Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Herk Drivers: Performance Question (Read 2686 times)
JDONLIN

Herk Drivers: Performance Question
Feb 21st, 2008 at 3:58am
Print Post  
Real World Herk crews,

1. I see from an old Air Force Technical Order that the standard takeoff flap setting is 50%. Is this always the case? Does it change with payload?

2. In the Performance appendix of the T.O, specifically the CLIMB charts, it refers to MAXIMUM CONTINUOUS climb power. Is this Maximum setting just firewalling the throttles or is it limited to T.I.T? Torque? Both?

Thanks!

Jim
Legendary C-130E, J
T.O. 1C-130B-1-1

AIM  
IP Logged

Joeflyer

Re: Herk Drivers: Performance Question
Reply #1 - Feb 28th, 2008 at 7:57pm
Print Post  
As long as the TIT doesn't get too high with max torque. With any turbine engine, you don't want to fry the thing by letting the ITT(as I call it...sorry, I'm a real-time C208 driver) get too high or you'll fry the engine. The Internal Turbine Temperature is crucial for the overall life of the engine(s).

&&

IP Logged

David Sweetman

Ex C-130 Aircraft Engineer

Reply #2 - Feb 28th, 2008 at 8:07pm
Print Post  
Oh Herc drivers (and technitians) set which ever comes first.  Torque or TIT.  It varies considerably with the OAT and airfields altitude. Hot and high places will reach max TIT before max Torque and vice versa.

IP Logged

Joeflyer

Reply #3 - Feb 28th, 2008 at 8:18pm
Print Post  
How silly of me to leave out the OAT part Huh Thanks for filling in that crucial part, Dax Wink

&&

IP Logged

zlakarma

Reply #4 - Mar 21st, 2008 at 1:56pm
Print Post  
Well gentlemen, CS FS2004 Herk model don`t simulate TIT correctly anyway, remember.  Cry

IP Logged

Joeflyer

Reply #5 - Apr 1st, 2008 at 7:13pm
Print Post  
zlakarma wrote on Mar 21st, 2008 at 1:56pm:
Well gentlemen, CS FS2004 Herk model don`t simulate TIT correctly anyway, remember.  Cry

Got a VERY good point there!

&&