Visit Captain Sim web site  
  Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Computor (Read 6674 times)
Weston

Computor
Jul 25th, 2013 at 4:45am
Print Post  
I knowi have started several topics on this but now my old computor is shot and I have to buy another what do you think?
http://www.cyberpowerpc.com/system/Gamer_Xtreme_1000

IP Logged

btscott

Re: Computor
Reply #1 - Jul 25th, 2013 at 1:29pm
Print Post  
Since no one has stepped forward I will offer the following, though I am not a pc expert. I think Mark is more qualified to judge this build. However, my immediate comments would be:

* I have read plenty of negative (and some positive) reviews on CyberPower.

* It is well known that FSX works best on Intel motherboards, CPUs and GPUs. Crossfire is AMD. Get a Gigabyte Intel motherboard

* As Intel is the preferred GPU for FSX (not AMD/ATI) get the GTX 660 gpu

* 350w power supply is inadequate-- you need minimum 750w (Corsair)

* Get 3 hard drives --- one for the operating system, one for FSX(dedicated) and one for storage. FSX should be on a hard drive all by itself.

* You live in Orlando --- it's HOT!! (I lived there 88-98) I would get a full tower case with the best possible cooling! (probably liquid).

The best source of hardware advice for FSX is the AVSIM Hardware Forum.

If I lived in Orlando I would definitely drive over to Temple Terrace, FL (northeast Tampa area) and talk to Jetline Systems. They build systems custom tailored for FSX!!!

http://jetlinesystems.com

Bruce

IP Logged

Weston

Reply #2 - Jul 25th, 2013 at 6:40pm
Print Post  
btscott wrote on Jul 25th, 2013 at 1:29pm:
Since no one has stepped forward I will offer the following, though I am not a pc expert. I think Mark is more qualified to judge this build. However, my immediate comments would be:

* It is well known that FSX works best on Intel motherboards, CPUs and GPUs. Crossfire is AMD. Get a Gigabyte Intel motherboard