Visit Captain Sim web site  
  Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Landing in VC (Read 4045 times)
hawkeye1112

Landing in VC
Dec 16th, 2008 at 5:06pm
Print Post  
I'm new to the 757 and I love the exterior model.  I always fly using the virtual cockpit, but I find it very difficult to land using the VC, especially viewing airspeed and the ILS.  If I zoom out so I can see those items, I have a hard time seeing them clearly.

Any suggestions or how do other people land?

Thanks,

Jeff

IP Logged

FuturePilot^

Re: Landing in VC
Reply #1 - Dec 30th, 2008 at 12:54pm
Print Post  
well sometimes i land in virtual cockpit by having the pfd zoomed up on the right. Well i just bought the cs757 so i dont know if you can press the screen and then they pop up Smiley But i think it can!!

IP Logged

jtsearay

Reply #2 - Dec 31st, 2008 at 5:35pm
Print Post  
I almost always land using the VC because when approaching at slow speeds the nose is so high you can't see the runway in the 2D view.

I just tilt the VC view down a little to be able to see the airspeed indicator and ADI.  I also, have 2 monitors and usually put the autopilot, CDU and ND on the 2nd monitor, but you can do it without this.

IP Logged

JayG

Reply #3 - Dec 31st, 2008 at 6:20pm
Print Post  
I use the VC to land as well. What I do is press 'Shift+Enter' and 'Shift+ Backspace' to move the 'eyepoint' where I want it, then zoom in so that I can see the PFD. With a little fine tuning you should be able to get things exactly where you want them.

Flight Lead: "Bandits at 3 oclock!!!"&&Wingman: "It's only 2:30 now, what do we do til then?"

IP Logged

Cthulhus

If it's Boeing,   I'm
going !

Reply #4 - Jan 1st, 2009 at 8:31am
Print Post  
Having the Airspeed Bugs as a popup should be great ...

Xavier Jehl (Cthulhus) &&&&
IP Logged

pilot7893

Reply #5 - Jan 1st, 2009 at 9:38pm
Print Post