Visit Captain Sim web site  
  Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 ... 15 16 [17] 18 19 ... 130 Send TopicPrint
 25 Lou - STORIES (Read 912575 times)
fs_addict

Re: Lou - STORIES
Reply #240 - Jun 12th, 2011 at 3:10pm
Print Post  
Lou, what landing in your career was the best ever? Lou's best was his last, but my best (I'm a real-world pilot too, sorta, I'm a student pilot) was my first. No bounces just a smooth touchdown, that landing impressed the heck out of my instructor.

&&Win7 Home SP1|Nvidia GT 220 1GB Memory|8GB RAM|550GB HDD 500GB External HDD|Intel Quad Core CPU @ 2.50 GHz

IP Logged

CoolP

Reply #241 - Jun 12th, 2011 at 3:32pm
Print Post  
fs_addict wrote on Jun 12th, 2011 at 3:10pm:
Lou, what landing in your career was the best ever? Lou's best was his last, but my best (I'm a real-world pilot too, sorta, I'm a student pilot) was my first. No bounces just a smooth touchdown, that landing impressed the heck out of my instructor.

Speaking of luck?  Tongue (kidding)

IP Logged

LOU
Beta Team

727,707,747,757,767=
40years of Boeings

Reply #242 - Jun 12th, 2011 at 8:57pm
Print Post  
CoolP asked:   Lou, regarding the icing (not on the cake) I wonder if all those de-ice and anti-ice stuff on planes is that effective when it comes to serious icing conditions.

I know that some birds are rather rigid in those, like some TwinOtter (NASA testbed), but how did a 707 for example handle severe icing, even with all her protective stuff enabled?
Was that a big threat?

And what are the first visible cues for a Captain to think of "I have to get the plane out of here, soon" instead of "we can handle that"?